Paste your Bing Webmaster Tools verification code here

Northumberland County

Northumberland County, the Mother County

Northumberland County

Northumberland County Seal

Northumberland County is known as the mother county because 2 of the 4 counties, Lancaster and Westmoreland, were carved from it.

The county was created by the Virginia General Assembly in 1648 during a period of rapid population growth and geographic expansion. Settlement began in this area of the Northern Neck around 1635. Originally known as the Indian district Chickacoan, the area was first referred to as Northumberland in the colonial records in 1644.

The county is governed by a Board of Supervisors, who are elected every four years from each of the five districts.

There is no police department in the county. Instead, law enforcement is the responsibility of the county Sheriff, who is a constitutional officer elected every four years. The Northumberland County Sheriff’s Office is located in Heathsville.

Northumberland County has two courthouses; an antebellum building constructed before the Civil War and a new building constructed in the late 1990s behind the older structure. The county courts (Circuit Court, General District Court, and Juvenile and Domestic Relations District Court) and the Clerk of the Circuit Court, a constitutional officer, are located in the new building. The Commissioner of Revenue and the Treasurer, both constitutional officers, have offices in the older building.

Unincorporated communities are:

Disclaimer Ken Smith is a Licensed Realtor Commonwealth of Virginia

Ken Smith 804-366-2325
%d bloggers like this: